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Archive for the ‘Traffic’ Category

Number 1 In Google?

Monday, June 22nd, 2009

number 1 in google

At the time of this writing, although this blog is number 1 in Google for the keyword phrase “internet business make money online” (without quotes; click here to see it in action) and a number 7 ranking for the keyword phrase “make money on the internet” (without quotes; click here to see it in action), I’m by no means an SEO (Search Engine Optimizaton) expert.

number 1 in google

make money on the internet

If you don’t know what SEO is, SEO is simply the process of improving your search engine’s ranking for the keywords you are targeting, as I’ve explained before in this post.

As far as SEO is concerned, I’m essentially doing only 4 things to get the results I’ve gotten:

1. Get as many 1 way incoming link from as many sites as possible

This means that you go out there and gather 1 way link from other sites to your site (make sure that the sites you’re trying to gain links from is “do-follow”, or to put in another way “nofollow free”). You can do this via blog commenting, forum signatures, social networking and bookmarking sites, submitting your site to directories, etc.

However, doing this manually is a monotone process which can get VERY time consuming and VERY boring (at least for me). Personally, I really hate doing repetitive tasks like these, which is why I’ve been using professional link building services for my link building campaign for almost 2 years now.

Not only does this save me hundreds of DREADED hours trying to find 1 way incoming links to my site, it saves me the hassle of having to keep track which sites have I submitted to gain a backlink to my site.

I might as well invest my money into professionals who know what they are doing and use the time I saved to focus on other more important larger-scale aspects of my business.

Seeking reciprocal linking partners where “I link to you and you link to me” almost no longer works. You might say that this method still work. But why invest your time and energy soliciting these kinds of links when you can instead build 1 way incoming links by spending the same amount of, if not less, time and effort?

2. Use the keyword you’re targeting as the anchor text for the incoming link

Getting 1 way incoming link to your site is great ONLY when you use the keywords you’re targeting as the anchor text of the link.

For example, let’s say you’re trying to target for the keyword phrase “make money on the internet” (without quotes). When seeking 1 way incoming links from other sites, be sure to make the phrase “make money on the internet” (again without quotes) hyperlinked so that when people click this link, they’ll be taken to your site.

This is VERY important and it will play a huge success in the success of your SEO campaign. The more incoming links (with your targeted keyword phrase as the anchor text) you have, the better your sites’ ranking will be in Google.

CAUTION: If you’re seeking links from a lot of sites, be sure to vary your incoming links a little. You should have at least 3 different but related keyword phrases that you’re targeting.  Doing this will help your site “fly under the radar” so that Google will not penalize you.

3. Make sure to put the keyword you’re targeting into the title tag

Although not as important as the first two factors mentioned above, inserting your targeted keyword phrase into the title tag will help your search engine ranking.

You do this by using the <title></title> tag within your site.

Using the same example again, if you were to target the keyword phrase “make money on the internet” (without quotes), you’d use this:

<title>Make Money On The Internet</title>

You can insert additional words before or after your targeted keywords to make your site look natural to human eyes as well.

4. Make sure that the keyword you’re targeting is mentioned in the body content of your site

This is the least important factor compared to the other three when it comes to ranking your site on Google.

If you can, strive to insert your targeted keyword a few times (DO NOT overdo it) within your site and you should be fine.

So to summarize, if you want to rank well in Google (especially number 1 in Google), you have to:

1. Get as many 1 way incoming link from as many sites as possible

2. Use the keyword you’re targeting as the anchor text for the incoming link

3. Make sure to put the keyword you’re targeting into the title tag

4. Make sure that the keyword you’re targeting is mentioned in the body content of your site

Last but not least, make sure you IMPLEMENT the methods outlined above. If you simply read and learn and you don’t do anything about it, you won’t get any results. Period.

If you have trouble motivating yourself to take action, then please read this beneficial article by my mentor Jonathan Leger. I’m sure it will help move you forward to take the actions you should have taken ages ago.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, so please leave them in a comment below…

Popularity: 18% [?]

Before You Drive Traffic To Your Site…

Wednesday, May 6th, 2009

In the last article we’ve learned that getting all the traffic in the world is useless if we do not know how to utilize it well. Specifically, if we don’t know how to convert our traffic into money, then our efforts to drive traffic to our sites will simply go down to waste.

In this article, I’m going to assume that you already have your goals laid out - what you want your visitors to do once they‘re on your site. If you still don’t have a clue what your goals are by having visitors to your site, then you need to sit down and take some time to think about it carefully. :cool:

This is VERY IMPORTANT!

Once you’ve identified your goals, DO NOT go out there and start implementing all the incredible driving traffic techniques you’ve learned.

Instead PREPARE first. :wink:

Since almost all of us are interested in building our lists, let’s say that your goal (when visitors land on your site) is to persuade them to subscribe to your newsletter.

Then in the preparation phase:

- Make sure that your opt-in box is above the fold so that they can spot it easily

- It’s better to use a bigger “subscribe” button to make your opt-in box more “eye-catching”

- Make sure you give them some kind of valuable Freebie (ebook, report, audio, video) and say it to them in their face what benefits they can get from your Freebie.

Simply asking them to join your newsletter will produce meager conversions as they can’t see the immediate benefit of joining your newsletter.

They’ll be thinking to themselves along these lines “Newsletter? So what? What good can it do for me? I’m already subscribed to dozens of other newsletters. How is this different? Nah… I’ll skip it for now.”

- Make sure that you have several autoresponder messages stored in your autoresponder account so that when subscribers opt-in to your list, they are automatically followed-up with valuable content PLUS sales messages to sell your products or affiliate products.

A note about following up with your subscribers:

There are basically 3 kinds of marketers who do things differently when it comes to following up with their subscribers…

The first one is the “I send you sales pitch email every day to squeeze every penny out of you”. I’ve made a post about this some time back. This kind of marketer is ON THE LIMIT, sending you sales pitch email every day (sometimes even 2 emails in a single day). He never bothers to send you valuable content, all he does is sell and sell all the time. :twisted:

The second type of marketer is the complete opposite of the first one. He almost never sends out sales pitches to his subscribers. All he does is provide valuable content all the time. He is too afraid that if he tries to sell to his subscribers, they’ll unsubscribe from his list. :sad:

The third type of marketer is somewhere in the middle. He provides a balance of valuable content and sales pitches. He understands that building a beneficial and trusting relationship with his subscribers is VERY important.

That’s why he only sells or recommends high quality products that he knows will help his subscribers. He will never jeopardize his reputation by selling a crappy product or service just to earn a quick buck for the short term. He is in the business for the long term. :mrgreen:

So which marketer are you?

For most people, I’d suggest you go for third type of marketer. Unless you’re a big name “guru”, you won’t survive belonging to the first type of marketer.

People will unsubscribe from your list so fast that you’ll lose your current subscribers faster than you gain new subscribers. Even if they don’t unsubscribe from your list, they’ll never open and read your emails.

The second type of marketer will not bring in any profit for you, since you’re always afraid of selling to your subscribers. What good is building relationship with them if you can’t make money out of them (sorry to blunt but let’s be realistic here from a business perspective).

This Preparation phase is VERY important. Because if you don’t prepare first, you’ll never achieve your desired goals. Even though it takes quite some time and effort to prepare, it’s very worthwhile.

In the example above, you might have to spend a few days to create your valuable Freebie (I suggest that you create your own unique Freebie instead of offering some low quality PLR or MRR stuff).Then you have to spend additional time to create your autoresponder messages.

However, if you do this correctly, your efforts will pay off multiple times!

Now that you have your opt-in box ready, and you have your valuable Freebie ready, and your autoresponder messages are all set up ready to go, you can then drive traffic to your site and watch some of your visitors being converted to subscribers.

Popularity: 21% [?]

Get Traffic Now? All That Traffic Is Useless…

Wednesday, April 29th, 2009

I’ve noticed a lot of people, or more specifically Internet marketers, talk a lot about things like SEO (Search Engine Optimization) as if it is THE MOST important thing in the world. I know they want to get traffic now, but is it just a matter of traffic all the time?

Read on…

Now if you don’t know what SEO is, SEO is simply the process of optimizing your website so that it ranks on the first page of Google or any other search engines for a particular set of keywords.

So let’s say that you have a website about selling anti-virus software. Essentially, what you want to achieve by doing SEO work is to get your website showing up on the first page of Google when someone types in “buy anti-virus software” (without quotes) in Google.

You might think that this is a fantastic way to get visitors to your site.

And it is. No contest about that.

Getting visitors when they have voluntarily typed in a keyword phrase related to our website is of course good news for us as website owners, since they are seeking what we have to offer.

They’re already interested in the subject of “anti virus software” and they’re looking to buy it with their wallet in their hands. That means you don’t have to educate them about the importance of having an anti-virus software and why they should buy one.

The education part is already done for you there.

How do you know?

Because of the fact that they typed in the phrase “buy anti virus software”. Notice the word “buy” there? They won’t want to buy it if they weren’t sure of what “anti virus software” is all about, wouldn’t they?

While you may have achieved number 1 ranking for this keyword phrase, what good is number 1 ranking if you can’t convert your visitors? :roll:

There is simply no point in having a huge influx of visitors if you can’t make them do what you want them to do.

In other words, you have to know and be VERY sure what your goals are. What do you want these visitors to do once they’re on your site?

Do you want them to click on your Adsense ads? Or do you want them to click on your affiliate link which leads to a leading anti-virus software company? Or maybe you want them to subscribe your anti virus newsletter that delivers tips and the latest updates related to combating computer virus?

Whatever your goals/objectives are, you need to define them first before you do all the hard SEO work (or any traffic generation work) that is going to bring all that Google traffic to your site. Otherwise all that traffic will go down to waste as you don’t even know what your goals are.

Make sense?

Now at the start of this article I mentioned that a lot of marketers are so “addicted” to SEO as if it is the most important thing/skill in the world (I may be a little exaggerating here… but I’m sure you get my point).

But achieving that all important 1st position in Google for your targeted keywords really won’t do you any good if you don’t know how to utilize your traffic well.

You have to start thinking about the bigger picture like this: “Okay once visitors land on my site, what do I want them to do? What is my ultimate goal?”

Take this blog for instance. At the time of this writing, this blog is ranked number 1 for the keywords “Internet business make money online”, which also happens to be one of the keywords I’m targeting.

When visitors come to my blog, my goal right then and there is to convert them to subscribers.

I have 3 mechanisms in place to do this:

1. There is an obvious opt-in box to the top right of this blog (on the sidebar) enhanced by a glaring red rectangle surrounding the submit button to make it stand out.

2. A slide-up opt-in box (aff) appears from the bottom of the blog. If you’re a returning visitor, you’ll see this in action for every 3rd revisit. (By the way, this slide-up box has increased the subscription rate of one of my sites by 78.43%).

3. There is the “What would Seth Godin do WordPress plugin” which displays a message box to new visitors and ask them to get my FREE report “How To Earn Your First 100 Dollars Online” (which also pulls them into my list). Visitors returning to this blog after the 5th time would not see this.

But is this my really, really ultimate goal?

Of course not! What good is there to have subscribers if you can’t convert them into… errr….well… money?

But at least my goal when new visitors reach my blog is to ask them to enter their name and email address so that I can follow up with them on a consistent basis to build beneficial and trusting relationships, as well as to sell them products and services related to Internet marketing or Internet business.

Since I know that most people will not buy my products when they’ve just landed on my site because they don’t who I am, my realistic goal is just to have them subscribe to my newsletter, and then sell to them later on.

So in essence, when a new guy lands on my blog and he subscribes to my newsletter, I have achieved my goal (at least at that level).

The ultimate goal is to sell related products and services to my subscribers, be it my own products or affiliate products which I believe will help them.

The end result?

I make Moolah (Money) of course :mrgreen:

Now that I’ve made clear that you need to set what your goals and objectives are for your site before you go out there and get traffic now, the next thing you need to do is to PREPARE before you go out there and try to drive visitors to your site.

After all, simply by knowing your goals is not enough, you need to PREPARE on how to achieve your goals.

And we will take a look at the preparation phase in part 2 of this article, so stay tuned…

I sincerely invite you to give my GOLD Coaching a RISK-FREE 14-day trial.

(you get to receive $488 REAL value of Internet marketing gifts for FREE too…)

Popularity: 20% [?]

These 2 Elements = Profits

Wednesday, October 15th, 2008

If you’ve been marketing online for some time now, you should have already known that the there aren’t really any “big secrets” to online profits.

The “big secrets” (as the “gurus” called it) basically comes down to 2 very important metrics:

- Traffic

- Conversion

If your site receives a lot of visitors but none of them buy your products or services, then you are not making any money.

Conversely, you can have the world’s best converting site, but without traffic, you won’t make a single sale.

Hence, these two elements work hand-in-hand together.

Traffic + Conversion = Profits

That is why it is very important that before driving massive traffic to your site, make sure that your conversion rate is good. But then again, without any traffic at all, you can’t gauge how good or bad your conversion is.

The solution is to drive decent amount traffic to your site and see what the conversion rate is.

For example if you drive 100 visitors to your site and you make 1 sale, then your conversion rate is 1/100 = 1%.

You could probably do better than 1%. Of course, it depends on the sources of traffic as well, as different sources produce different conversion rates.

Not all traffic is created equal.

For example, affiliate traffic tends to produce better conversion rates than traffic from social bookmarking sites, while joint-venture traffic usually produces better conversion rates than affiliate traffic.

Once you’ve calculated your conversion rate based on a decent amount of traffic, for example 200 - 300 visitors, you should always try to improve on it before driving any more traffic to your site.

Why?

Because advertising costs are increasing every single day. Since you’ve worked so hard (in terms of money, effort, and time) in getting that visitor, you should make sure that you have a great converting site so that he or she becomes a buyer.

Even if he doesn’t buy your product or service right then and there, you should have some kind of freebie to bribe him in exchange for his email address, so that you can follow up with him to generate sales later on. :cool:

An excellent yet free tracking program that can track visitors on your site is Google Analytics. I’ve also done an article some time ago that’s titled 5 Reasons Why You Need To Track Your Visitors. Be sure to read that article to get a better understanding why it’s important to track your visitors.

Once you’ve managed to obtain a great conversion rate, be sure to note down the changes you’ve made to your site, so that you can refer back later on and see which specific element you changed that has a major impact on the conversion rate.

Who knows you might be able to duplicate this change on your other site to boost its conversion rate as well, even though different markets and different sites may react differently. :smile:

But hey, this is testing and tracking, and nothing is perfect. That is why it’s called “testing and tracking”!

Once you’re satisfied with your conversion rate, it’s time to drive traffic like mad to your site and make oodles of money! :mrgreen:

And you know what, since you’ve taken down notes which elements on your site you changed that resulted in a boost in your conversion rates, you could probably slap up a mini-report and sell it for a low price or use it as a freebie to bait more people into your list. :lol:

Popularity: 16% [?]